# **AWARDS CEREMONY**



#### Department of Physics and Astronomy UC Irvine 8 June 2023

#### TO ALL PHYSICS AND ASTRONOMY DEPARTMENT

#### STUDENTS, STAFF, FACULTY, FRIENDS, AND FAMILY

# WELCOME!

# THANKS

- AWARDS COMMITTEE JONATHAN FENG\*, PAUL ROBERTSON (MC), ANYES TAFFARD, TOSHI TAJIMA, RUQIAN WU, CLARE YU; ALISON LARA, DON WILLIAMS
- **SLIDE SHOW** ALEJANDRA DIAZ, JONATHAN FENG, ARIES MAGANA, JONAS SHULTZ
- AWARDS CEREMONY KEV ABAZAJIAN, DEBBIE ALLEN, MY BANH, GENESSIS MEZA, ADA RAMIREZ, CATHERINE VU
- UNDERGRADUATE EDUCATION COMMITTEE DAVE CASPER, PHIL COLLINS, THOMAS SCAFFIDI, ZUZANNA SIWY\*, ANYES TAFFARD, LAURA TUCKER, STEVE WHITE, DANIEL WHITESON, JIN YU; AARON BARTH
- GRADUATE STUDIES COMMITTEE JUN ALLARD, DAVID BUOTE, SASHA CHERNYSHEV\*, ILYA KRIVOROTOV, HOWARD LEE, ZHIHONG LIN, ARVIND RAJARAMAN
- DEPARTMENT CHAIR TIM TAIT

### AGENDA

#### **UNDERGRADUATE STUDENTS**

### **GRADUATE STUDENTS**

STAFF

FACULTY

# UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT AWARDS



# RESONANCE UNDERGRADUATE FELLOWS AND MENTORS

#### PRESENTED BY PROFESSOR LAURA TUCKER

# RESONANCE UNDERGRADUATE FELLOWS AND MENTORS

STEPHEN COFFEY JAMES CORCORAN THERESE DO KIT FEENEY NICK HLOUSEK KIMBERLY INZUNZA JUSTIN LEE THOMAS LI ZOEY LIU BIANCA MURPHY ETHAN NIU SHANE O'BRIEN CASS RIVERA CARLOS SANTIAGO NAOL TULU JOSHUA WANG

### **CLUB LEADERS**

#### SOCIETY OF PHYSICS STUDENTS

PRESIDENT: CARLOS SANTIAGO VICE-PRESIDENT: ISAAC FISHMAN FACULTY ADVISOR: PROFESSOR JIANMING BIAN

### **CLUB LEADERS**

#### **ASTRONOMY CLUB**

PRESIDENT BENJAMIN HAN VICE PRESIDENT: MASON LEE MARKLEY TREASURER. MAKAYI A SHAPIRO **TELESCOPE OPERATOR: THOMAS LI** ASSISTANT TELESCOPE OPERATOR. KEVIN SHI SOCIAL MEDIA CHAIR: ANAGHA SUBBAMARAN SECRETARY: BETHANY HATSIOS EVENT PLANNER: KIMBERLY INZUNZA WEBMASTER<sup>1</sup> ETHAN DENG **GRADUATE ADVISOR: MANUEL PAUL** FACULTY ADVISOR: PROFESSOR PAUL ROBERTSON

### HERBERT H. CHEN SCHOLARSHIP AWARD

#### SHELLEY TONG

## PHI BETA KAPPA (INVITED)

2023

JOVAN ANTICH (SENIOR) STEPHEN COFFEY (SENIOR) KE XU (SENIOR) VANESSA YAO (SENIOR)

# **SIGMA PI SIGMA NOMINEES**

JOVAN ANTICH BRANDAN BUSCHMANN DYLAN CARDEN ZHENGYANG CHEN JAMES CHIN STEPHEN COFFEY **BINOD DHUKUCHHU** SEAN TUAN PHONG DOAN LYNN DUONG KAI FERRAGAI I O-HAWKINS NATALLE FISHER AUTUMN GAHAGAN BANG HAN NIKOLA HLOUSEK ALEXANDER HSU KF HU THOMAS LI

IAMBERTIIN PENGRUI LIU **YINING LIU** YUXING LIU **ZEXUAN LIU** SHUNWENIUO TIEN THE MAI MASON MARKLEY TIN NGUYEN MATH CYDNEY MAXWELL HSUAN MENG **KOKI NISHIDA** MARCELLO PAJOH-CASCO **GRANT PIRES** JUAN RAFFO CALIXTO HAROLD RAPP ANTONY ROZIC

**YISHENG SHEN** PUYUAN SUN ANTHONY TANEDA MATTHEW VARGAS DANIEL VEGA JII I IAN VII I A JOSHUA WANG KE XU SHUHAN YANG YUHUI YANG **VANESSA YAO** LEON ZHANG YUXIAN ZHANG HONGZHENG ZHU PEIYU ZHU PRESTON 711 LIOT

## **SENIORS ELIGIBLE FOR LATIN HONORS**

#### **CUM LAUDE**

JOVAN ANTICH DYLAN CARDEN SEAN TUAN PHONG DOAN LYNN DUONG YUXING LIU MASON MARKLEY HSUAN MENG KE XU SHUHAN YANG VANESSA YAO LEON ZHANG PEIYU ZHU

#### MAGNA CUM LAUDE

THOMAS LI LAMBERT LIN

#### SUMMA CUM LAUDE

BRANDAN BUSCHMANN NATALI FISHER JOSHUA WANG HONGZHENG ZHU

# SENIORS GRADUATING WITH HONORS IN PHYSICS

**BRANDAN BUSCHMANN** STEPHEN COFFEY **BINOD DHUKUCHHU** SEAN TUAN PHONG DOAN SUBRAHMANYA GANTI NIKOLA HLOUSEK ALEXANDER HSU I AMBERT I IN **ZEXUAN LIU GRANT PIRES** ANTONY ROZIC CARLOS SANTIAGO NAOL TULU JOSHUA WANG JINGYUAN ZHANG LEON ZHANG PFIYU 7HU

# CHANCELLOR'S AND DEPARTMENT AWARDS

#### PRESENTED BY PROFESSOR ZUZANNA SIWY

**CHANCELLOR'S AWARDS** 

## CHANCELLOR'S AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN UNDERGRADUATE RESEARCH

ANTONY ROZIC

# OUTSTANDING GRADUATING SENIOR SERVICE AWARD

#### NATALI FISHER

#### DOAN SEAN TUAN PHONG

# OUTSTANDING GRADUATING SENIOR RESEARCH AWARD

#### LEON ZHANG

# OUTSTANDING GRADUATING SENIOR SCHOLARSHIP AWARD

### NATALI FISHER

#### LAWSON MCCOY

# OUTSTANDING FACULTY AWARD FOR UNDERGRADUATE TEACHING

#### **BILL HEIDBRINK**

# GRADUATE STUDENT AWARDS



### **PACE MENTORS**

## PROFESSOR FRANKLIN DOLLAR PROFESSOR STEPH SALLUM\* FACULTY ADVISORS

#### \*PRESENTER

# PACE MENTORS

ABBY BAULT DAVANTE CAIN MATTHEW DOWICZ CESAR GALLEGOS HELENA GARCIA DYLAN GREEN MARK HAYWARD COURTNEY KLEIN STUART LOVE CARMEN AL MASRI DAVID NELSON VICTOR KNAPP PEREZ LORAINE SANDOVAL ASCENCIO HANA SCHIFF MAYA SILVERMAN VIDYA VENKATESAN ELI WELCH HAN-HSUAN WU JOSHUA YANG

#### LEADERS AND OSTERBROCK FELLOWS

JACK LUBIN RYAN RICE-SMITH STEPHANIE URBANO STAWINSKI TYLER SMITH DEVONTAE BAXTER (EMERITUS) FRANCISCO MERCADO (EMERITUS)

### **UNITY LEADERS**

### PRESIDENT: ABBY BAULT TREASURER: COURTNEY KLEIN SECRETARY: MAYA SILVERMAN, MICA BACANI, HANA SCHIFF MENTORSHIP: AMY RALSTON, COURTNEY KLEIN DEI CHAIR: ANNE-KATHERINE BURNS DECADE REPRESENTATIVES: INDIA BHALLA-LADD, PATRICIA FOFIE FACULTY ADVISOR: PROFESSOR MU-CHUN CHEN

### **DEPARTMENT AWARDS**

#### PRESENTED BY PROFESSOR SASHA CHERNYSHEV

# OUTSTANDING GRADUATE STUDENT AWARD

#### DAVIS THUILLIER

# OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE DEPARTMENT

#### STEVEN CRISOSTOMO

# OUTSTANDING FACULTY AWARD FOR GRADUATE TEACHING

#### JUDIT ROMHANYI

# **STAFF AWARDS**



### **STAFF AWARDS: CONGRATULATIONS!**

#### **GENESSIS MEZA (5 YEARS)**

# **POSTDOC AWARDS**



### **POSTDOC AWARDS**

#### MARINA BIANCHIN: 2023 GRUBER FOUNDATION FELLOWSHIP

# **FACULTY AWARDS**



## **FACULTY AWARDS**

#### JUDIT ROMHANYI: 2023 OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTIONS TO UNDERGRADUATE EDUCATION

#### HOWARD LEE: 2023 CHANCELLOR'S AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN UNDERGRADUATE RESEARCH

#### PEDRO OCHOA: 2023 CELEBRATION OF TEACHING DEAN'S HONOREE FOR PHYSICAL SCIENCES

# HOWARD LEE: 2023 BEALL INNOVATION AWARD IN PHYSICAL SCIENCES

### **FACULTY AWARDS**

#### **APS FELLOWSHIPS**

KEV ABAZAJIAN: 2022 APS FELLOW, DIVISION OF ASTROPHYSICS

FRANKLIN DOLLAR: 2022 APS FELLOW, DIVISION OF PLASMA PHYSICS

#### AAAS FELLOWSHIP

SASHA CHERNYSHEV: 2023 FELLOW, AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE

ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE

#### **ACADEMIA SINICA**

LIU CHEN: 2022 ACADEMICIAN, ACADEMIA SINICA, TAIWAN

## **TIM TAIT: DEPARTMENT CHAIR**

#### THANKS FOR YOUR SERVICE, TIM!

## **CONGRATULATIONS EVERYONE!**

### **RECEPTION IN 142 ROWLAND HALL**

