### **AWARDS CEREMONY**



Department of Physics and Astronomy
UC Irvine
6 June 2019

#### **THANKS**

- AWARDS COMMITTEE JONATHAN FENG\*, ZHIHONG LIN, ANYES TAFFARD, RUQIAN WU, CLARE YU; LORI GREENE, ALISON LARA, DON WILLIAMS
- SLIDE SHOW ALEJANDRA DIAZ, ARIES MAGANA, JONAS SHULTZ, DON WILLIAMS (MORE PHOTOS? SEND TO JLF@UCI.EDU)
- AWARDS CEREMONY DEBBIE ALLEN, MY BANH, ALEJANDRA DIAZ, ALISON LARA, ADA RAMIREZ, JAN STRUDWICK, ROMINA VAN ALSTINE
- UNDERGRAD EDUCATION COMMITTEE DAVE CASPER, PHIL COLLINS, BILL HEIDBRINK, ZUZANNA SIWY, TAMMY SMECKER-HANE, LAURA TUCKER, STEVE WHITE, DANIEL WHITESON\*
- GRADUATE STUDIES COMMITTEE JUN ALLARD, DAVID BUOTE, MU-CHUN CHEN, ILYA KRIVOROTOV, ZHIHONG LIN, ARVIND RAJARMAN, TIM TAIT\*

DEPARTMENT CHAIR JAMES BULLOCK

### UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT AWARDS



## RESONANCE UNDERGRADUATE FELLOWS AND MENTORS

**HENRY AMIR** 

DANNY ATTIYAH

**KYLE CALLAHAN** 

MURONG CHENG

MELANIE DACHAUER

LILIANA GARCIA

MARLON HETTICK

WENJIE HUANG

**ERNY JUAREZ** 

**GREG KRUEPER** 

ARTHUR PYUSKULYAN

ROCHELLE RADZYMINSKI

**LISABETH SANTANA** 

**REBECCA RILEY (GRADUATE FELLOW)** 

#### SOCIETY OF PHYSICS STUDENTS LEADERS

## HENRY AMIR (PRESIDENT) LISABETH SANTANA (VICE-PRESIDENT)

#### HERBERT H. CHEN SCHOLARSHIP AWARD

#### **KYUNGSEOP YOON**

#### PHI BETA KAPPA INDUCTEES

#### **KYUNGSEOP YOON (JUNIOR)**

GREGORY KRUEPER (SENIOR)
TINGYU TAO (SENIOR)

#### SIGMA PI SIGMA NOMINEES

KYLE CALLAHAN
TEJAS DETHE

**MELANIE DACHAUER** 

MARCUS FIRSTMAN

GREGORY KRUEPER

**WEIYANG QIN** 

**ROCHELLE RADZYMINSKI** 

**ALAN ROBLEDO** 

AMANDA SHACKELFORD

TINGYU TAO

**CHEN WANG** 

**YIWEN XIAO** 

JAMES YAMADA

#### SENIORS ELIGIBLE FOR LATIN HONORS

KYLE CALLAHAN
TEJAS DETHE
MELANIE DACHAUER

**GREGORY KRUEPER** 

ROCHELLE RADZYMINSKI ALAN ROBLEDO

AMANDA SHACKELFORD

**TINGYU TAO** 

**CHEN WANG** 

**YIWEN XIAO** 

#### SENIORS GRADUATING WITH HONORS

KYLE CALLAHAN

TEJAS DETHE

GREGORY KRUEPER

ROCHELLE RADZYMINSKI

## OUTSTANDING GRADUATING SENIOR RESEARCH AND SERVICE AWARD

#### **ROCHELLE RADZYMINSKI**

### OUTSTANDING GRADUATING SENIOR SCHOLARSHIP AWARD

#### **KYLE CALLAHAN**

### GRADUATE STUDENT AWARDS



#### **OUTSTANDING PACE MENTORS**

DEVONTAE BAXTER **JESSICA HOWARD KYLE KABASARES** FRANCISCO MERCADO **SOPHIA NASR MANUEL PAUL** REBECCA RILEY MICHAEL SEGGEBRUCH ARIANNA BROWN (GRAD STUDENT LEADER) KATY RODRIGUEZ WIMBERLY (GRAD STUDENT LEADER)

## OUTSTANDING GRADUATE STUDENT AWARD

#### **WENHAO WANG**

## OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE DEPARTMENT

# ARIANNA BROWN KATY RODRIGUEZ WIMBERLY

### **FACULTY AWARDS**



#### **FACULTY AWARDS**

ALBERT SIRYAPORN: CHANCELLOR'S AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE
IN UNDERGRADUATE RESEARCH

TO UNDERGRADUATE EDUCATION

MU-CHUN CHEN: OUTSTANDING FACULTY AWARD FOR UNDERGRADUATE TEACHING

YURI SHIRMAN: OUTSTANDING FACULTY AWARD
FOR GRADUATE TEACHING

#### OTHER FACULTY AWARDS

**JING XIA: 2017 MACRONIX AWARD** 

**GREG BENFORD: 2019 HEINLEIN AWARD** 

CHRIS BARTY: 2018 R. W. WOOD PRIZE FOR OPTICS

**TOSHI TAJIMA: 2019 EPS ALFVEN PRIZE** 

**TOSHI TAJIMA: 2019 APS ROBERT R. WILSON PRIZE** 

TOSHI TAJIMA: 2019 AAPPS CHANDRASEKHAR PRIZE FOR PLASMA PHYSICS

CLARE YU: 2019 FELLOW OF THE AMERICAN ACADEMY OF ARTS

AND SCIENCES

#### PAST DEPARTMENT CHAIR

#### **JAMES BULLOCK, 2017-2019**

PAST CHAIRS: ALEX MARADUDDIN, JONAS SCHULTZ, GARY CHANAN, ANDY LANKFORD, BILL PARKER, PETER TABOREK

#### **RECEPTION IN RH 142**

### CHANCELLOR'S AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN UNDERGRADUATE RESEARCH

#### **ALBERT SIRYAPORN**

## OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTIONS TO UNDERGRADUATE EDUCATION

#### LAURA TUCKER

## OUTSTANDING FACULTY AWARD FOR UNDERGRADUATE TEACHING

#### **MU-CHUN CHEN**

## OUTSTANDING FACULTY AWARD FOR GRADUATE TEACHING

#### YURI SHIRMAN