AWARDS CEREMONY



Department of Physics and Astronomy
UC Irvine
4 June 2020

THANKS

- AWARDS COMMITTEE JONATHAN FENG*, PAUL ROBERTSON, ANYES TAFFARD, TOSHI TAJIMA, RUQIAN WU, CLARE YU, ALISON LARA
- SLIDE SHOW ALEJANDRA DIAZ, ARIES MAGANA, JONAS SHULTZ, DON WILLIAMS (MORE PHOTOS? SEND TO JLF@UCI.EDU)
- AWARDS CEREMONY DEBBIE ALLEN, MY BANH, ADA RAMIREZ, ROMINA VAN ALSTINE
- UNDERGRADUATE EDUCATION COMMITTEE DAVE CASPER, PHIL COLLINS, BILL HEIDBRINK, ZUZANNA SIWY*, TAMMY SMECKER-HANE, LAURA TUCKER, STEVE WHITE
- GRADUATE STUDIES COMMITTEE JUN ALLARD, DAVID BUOTE, MU-CHUN CHEN*, ILYA KRIVOROTOV, ZHIHONG LIN, ARVIND RAJARMAN

DEPARTMENT CHAIR TIM TAIT

UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT AWARDS



RESONANCE UNDERGRADUATE FELLOWS AND MENTORS

PRESENTED
BY
PROFESSOR LAURA TUCKER

RESONANCE UNDERGRADUATE FELLOWS AND MENTORS

JUSTIN AMIN

HENRY AMIR

SHASHA ARANI

CHRISTINE CARO

ZHOUYI CHEN

MURONG CHENG

LUCY DAVIS

KYLER FRAZIER

CHRIS GARDNER

MARIO HERNANDEZ

MARLON HETTICK

CORY HOO

WENJIE HUANG

JERRY LI

BLAKE LIU

EINSTEIN LOPEZ

TIN MATH

ANDY PARK

ALPHONSE PHONG

SHERLOCK QIN

RYAN RICE-SMITH

DIANA RIVERA

GIOVANNY ROSALES

LISABETH SANTANA

ABHAY SHARMA

YU XIA

KYUNGSEOP YOON

REBECCA RILEY (GRAD FELLOW)

SOCIETY OF PHYSICS STUDENTS LEADERS

HENRY AMIR (PRESIDENT) LISABETH SANTANA (VICE-PRESIDENT)

PROFESSOR JIANMING BIAN, FACULTY ADVISOR

HERBERT H. CHEN SCHOLARSHIP AWARD

JAYAKRISHNAN RADHAKRISHNAN

PHI BETA KAPPA INDUCTEES

2019

KYUNGSEOP YOON (JUNIOR)

2020
MICHELLE FICHT (JUNIOR)
DANNY ATTIYAH (SENIOR)
JIAQI GUO (SENIOR)
GARRETT PRECHEL (SENIOR)
XINYAO PEI (SENIOR)

SIGMA PI SIGMA NOMINEES

KYUNGSEOP YOON SHAOWEI XU ROBERT WYNNE

DAOHANG TONG

QIHANG SHI

WILLIAM SCHALLOCK

LISABETH SANTANA

MICHAEL ROBERTS

RYAN RICE-SMITH

CHENGQING QU

GARRETT PRECHEL

XINYAO PEI

BRANDON METCALE

ZHIYU MAN

EINSTEIN LOPEZ

SUNGHWI LEE

DEMAO KONG

WENJIE HUANG

TREVOR HARALSON

JIAQI GUO

CHRISTOPHER GARDNER

BRIAN FOX

SAMUEL DOLAN

MURONG CHENG

DANNY ATTIYAH

SENIORS ELIGIBLE FOR LATIN HONORS

BRIAN FOX CHRISTOPHER GARDNER DANNY ATTIYAH GARRETT PRECHEL JIAQI GUO KYUNGSEOP YOON MICHAEL ROBERTS MURONG CHENG SAMUEL DOLAN WENJIE HUANG

SENIORS GRADUATING WITH HONORS

MURONG CHENG
JIAQI GUO
WENJIE HUANG
XINYAO PEI
GARRETT PRECHEL

CHANCELLOR'S AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN RESEARCH

KYUNGSEOP YOON

OUTSTANDING GRADUATING SENIOR SERVICE AWARD

LISABETH SANTANA

OUTSTANDING GRADUATING SENIOR RESEARCH AWARD

DANNY ATTIYAH

OUTSTANDING GRADUATING SENIOR SCHOLARSHIP AWARD

WENJIE HUANG

GRADUATE STUDENT AWARDS



PACE MENTORS

PRESENTED BY PROFESSOR FRANKLIN DOLLAR FACULTY ADVISOR

PACE MENTORS

ABBY BAULT ANDREW BARBARAS ASTRID ANKER JESSICA HOWARD KYLE KABASARES MANUEL PAUL MATTHEW STANFIELD MICHAEL SEGGEBRUCH DEVONTAE BAXTER (LEADER IN TRAINING) FRANCISCO MERCADO (LEADER IN TRAINING) TJ MCSORLEY (LEADER IN TRAINING) ARIANNA BROWN (LEADER) KATY RODRIGUEZ WIMBERLY (LEADER) PROFESSOR FRANKLIN DOLLAR (FACULTY ADVISOR)

OUTSTANDING GRADUATE STUDENT AWARD

SHREYA SHUKLA

OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE DEPARTMENT

REBECCA RILEY

STAFF AWARDS



STAFF AWARDS: CONGRATULATIONS!

BEN AVILA (5 YEARS)

ROMINA VAN ALSTINE (10 YEARS)

JAN STRUDWICK (15 YEARS)

MARCIA AGUIRRE (20 YEARS)

ADA RAMIREZ (20 YEARS)

FERDI BADESCU (25 YEARS)

FACULTY AWARDS



OUTSTANDING FACULTY AWARD FOR UNDERGRADUATE TEACHING

LAURA TUCKER

OUTSTANDING FACULTY AWARD FOR GRADUATE TEACHING

HERBERT HAMBER

FACULTY AWARDS

TIM TAIT: 2019 UCI DISTINGUISHED MID-CAREER FACULTY AWARD FOR RESEARCH

PHIL COLLINS: 2020 UCI EXCELLENCE IN DIGITAL LEARNING AWARD

JING XIA: 2019 FELLOW OF THE AMERICAN PHYSICAL SOCIETY

ZUZANNA SIWY: 2019 FELLOW OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE

VIRGINIA TRIMBLE: 2020 LEGACY FELLOW OF THE AMERICAN

ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY

FACULTY AWARDS

TIM TAIT: 2019 APS DPF MENTORING AWARD

STEVE WHITE: 2019 FEENBERG MEMORIAL MEDAL

LIU CHEN: 2019 AAPPS SUBRAMANYAN CHANDRASEKHAR PRIZE OF PLASMA PHYSICS

GARY CHANAN: 2020 YALE ALUMNI ASSOCIATION AWARD FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF BASIC AND APPLIED SCIENCE

TOSHI TAJIMA: 2020 OSA CHARLES H. TOWNES AWARD