AWARDS CEREMONY



Department of Physics and Astronomy
UC Irvine
2 June 2022

TO ALL PHYSICS AND ASTRONOMY DEPARTMENT STUDENTS, STAFF, FACULTY, FRIENDS, AND FAMILY

WELCOME!

THANKS

- AWARDS COMMITTEE JONATHAN FENG*, PAUL ROBERTSON, ANYES TAFFARD, TOSHI TAJIMA, RUQIAN WU, CLARE YU; ALISON LARA, DON WILLIAMS
- SLIDE SHOW ALEJANDRA DIAZ, ARIES MAGANA, JONAS SHULTZ (MORE PHOTOS? SEND TO JLF@UCI.EDU)
- AWARDS CEREMONY KEV ABAZAJIAN, DEBBIE ALLEN, MY BANH, MAX FIEG, ALEC HEWITT, GENESSIS MEZA, ADA RAMIREZ
- UNDERGRADUATE EDUCATION COMMITTEE DAVE CASPER, PHIL COLLINS, ZUZANNA SIWY*, LAURA TUCKER, STEVE WHITE, DANIEL WHITESON, JIN YU; AARON BARTH
- GRADUATE STUDIES COMMITTEE JUN ALLARD, DAVID BUOTE, SASHA CHERNYSHEV*, ILYA KRIVOROTOV, ZHIHONG LIN, ARVIND RAJARAMAN

DEPARTMENT CHAIR TIM TAIT

AGENDA

UNDERGRADUATE STUDENTS GRADUATE STUDENTS

STAFF

FACULTY

UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT AWARDS



RESONANCE UNDERGRADUATE FELLOWS AND MENTORS

PRESENTED
BY
PROFESSOR LAURA TUCKER

RESONANCE UNDERGRADUATE FELLOWS AND MENTORS

SHASHA ARANI

JESUS BAEZA

GRIFFIN BRADLEY

STEPHEN COFFEY

SEBASTIAN DETERING

KEVIN GILL

DEVIN HERNANDEZ

NIKOLA HLOUSEK

KIMBERLY INZUNZA

ZHICHAO JIN

JUSTIN LEE

MASON MARKLEY

LUCAS MOORE

BENJAMIN OLSON

EMELY OPORTO

MEAD PUCKETT

MADELINE / MIKA REYES

MATTHEW RIVERA

SHUBHITA VERMA

LEON ZHANG

CLUB LEADERS

SOCIETY OF PHYSICS STUDENTS

STEPHEN COFFEY (PRESIDENT)

KEVIN GILL (VICE-PRESIDENT)

MAHAM HASIB (TREASURER)

PROFESSOR JIANMING BIAN, FACULTY ADVISOR

ASTRONOMY CLUB

THEODORE MACKEY (PRESIDENT)

BENJAMIN HAN (VICE-PRESIDENT)

CHRIS MARTIN (TREASURER)

RILEY CROW (SOCIAL MEDIA DESIGNER)

MASON MARKLEY (TELESCOPE OPERATOR)

MANUEL PAUL (GRADUATE ADVISOR)

PROFESSOR PAUL ROBERTSON, FACULTY ADVISOR

HERBERT H. CHEN SCHOLARSHIP AWARD

LEON ZHANG

PHI BETA KAPPA INDUCTEES

2020 ALAN BARKLEY-YEUNG (JUNIOR)

> 2021 SHASHA ARANI (JUNIOR)

> > 2022

KYRAN BUGGY (SENIOR)

ALEXANDER GALKIN (SENIOR)

KEVIN GILL (SENIOR)

MAHAM HASIB (SENIOR)

JERRY LI (SENIOR)

JAY RADHAKRISHNAN (SENIOR)

YUNYANG SUN (SENIOR)

JASEN ZION (SENIOR)

SIGMA PI SIGMA NOMINEES

SHASHA ARANI ALAN BARKLEY-YEUNG DALE BLACK GRIFFIN BRADLEY KYRAN BUGGY **ALYSSA CHAN** JIELUN CHEN ZHOUYI CHEN NICHOLAS CUOMO JULIE DAUGHTERS CARTER DICKINSON YUANKEQIN DONG SETH ENOCHS **CONNOR EXTON ALEXANDER GALKIN KEVIN GILL** MAHAM HASIB

DEVIN HERNANDEZ SALMA IDRUS MINGHAO JIANG YUCHENG JIN SOPHIA KAMINSKI JUSTIN LEE MICHAEL LEE NICOLAS LEE **FENGYILI** JERRY LI YICHAO LIN JONATHAN LOPEZ YUANHUIKE LU THEODORE MACKEY CHRIS MARTIN **KYLE MONROE** JARRED PAGUIO

KYUNHA PARK VICTOR PHAM ADAM PORTER JAY RADHAKRISHNAN JENNIE RAO SIDDHESH RAUT SUSU RONG YUCHENG SU YUNYANG SUN NOEL VERDUZCO TIANRUI WANG LESHAN ZHAO YUAN ZHENG XUGUO ZHOU QUANTUM ZHUO JASEN ZION

SENIORS ELIGIBLE FOR LATIN HONORS

CUM LAUDE

SHASHA ARANI
KYRAN BUGGY
CARTER DICKINSON
ALEXANDER GALKIN
MAHAM HASIB
YICHAO LIN
SIDDHESH RAUT
JASEN ZION

MAGNA CUM LAUDE

KEVIN GILL JERRY LI JAY RADHAKRISHNAN YUNYANG SUN

SUMMA CUM LAUDE

ALAN BARKLEY-YEUNG
JIELUN CHEN

SENIORS GRADUATING WITH HONORS IN PHYSICS

SHASHA ARANI DALE BLACK GRIFFIN BRADLEY JIELUN CHEN NICHOLAS CUOMO DEANNA DIAZ AGUILAR VICTOR FLORES **KEVIN GILL** MAHAM HASIB CHUN HO WONG LESHAN ZHAO **XUGUO ZHOU JASEN ZION**

CHANCELLOR'S AND DEPARTMENT AWARDS

PRESENTED
BY
PROFESSOR ZUZANNA SIWY

CHANCELLOR'S AWARDS

CHANCELLOR'S AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN RESEARCH

CHRIS CHEN

CHANCELLOR'S AWARD OF DISTINCTION

DEVIN HERNANDEZ

OUTSTANDING GRADUATING SENIOR SERVICE AWARD

JAY RADHAKRISHNAN

OUTSTANDING GRADUATING SENIOR RESEARCH AWARD

MAHAM HASIB LESHAN ZHAO

OUTSTANDING GRADUATING SENIOR SCHOLARSHIP AWARD

ALEXANDER GALKIN

OUTSTANDING FACULTY AWARD FOR UNDERGRADUATE TEACHING

JUAN PEDRO OCHOA-RICOUX

GRADUATE STUDENT AWARDS



PACE MENTORS

PRESENTED BY PROFESSOR FRANKLIN DOLLAR PROFESSOR STEPH SALLUM FACULTY ADVISORS

PACE MENTORS

CARMEN AL MASRI
ASTRID ANKER
ANDREW BARABAS
ABBY BAULT
MATTHEW DOWICZ
NICHOLAS DUONG
DYLAN GREEN
WATARU HAYASHI
MARK HAYWARD
RAE HOLCOMB
JESSICA HOWARD
KYLE KABASARES

COURTNEY KLEIN
RAFAEL MAGALDI
AJ NIELSEN
MANUEL PAUL
GARRETT PRECHEL
MICHAEL SEGGEBRUCH
MAYA SILVERMAN
TYLER SMITH
ADRIEN STEJER
RAFAEL UMEDA
VIDYA VENKATESAN

LEADERS AND OSTERBROCK FELLOWS

DEVONTAE BAXTER
JACK LUBIN
FRANCISCO MERCADO
STEPHANIE STAWINSKI

UNITY LEADERS

ASTRID ANKER (CO-PRESIDENT)

ABBY BAULT (CO-PRESIDENT)

COURTNEY KLEIN (OFFICER)

AMY RALSTON (OFFICER)

MAYA SILVERMAN (OFFICER)

PROFESSOR MU-CHUN CHEN, FACULTY ADVISOR

DEPARTMENT AWARDS

PRESENTED BY PROFESSOR SASHA CHERNYSHEV

EDDLEMAN QUANTUM INSTITUTE GRADUATE RESEARCH FELLOWS

TIMOTHY MCSORLEY

MARA MISHNER

RYAN PEDERSON

HANA SCHIFF

IAN SEQUEIRA

OUTSTANDING GRADUATE STUDENT AWARD

VICTOR KNAPP PÉREZ HANA SCHIFF

OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE DEPARTMENT

JASON HIROSHI ARAKAWA

OUTSTANDING FACULTY AWARD FOR GRADUATE TEACHING

JONATHAN FENG

STAFF AWARDS



STAFF AWARDS: CONGRATULATIONS!

ARIES MAGANA (5 YEARS)

MY BANH (15 YEARS)

MARIE TONINI (25 YEARS)

FACULTY AWARDS



FACULTY AWARDS

KEV ABAZAJIAN: 2022 OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTIONS TO UNDERGRADUATE EDUCATION

ANDY LANKFORD: 2022 OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTIONS TO UNDERGRADUATE EDUCATION

HUOLIN XIN: 2022 CHANCELLOR'S AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN UNDERGRADUATE RESEARCH

JONATHAN FENG: 2022 CELEBRATION OF TEACHING DEAN'S
HONOREE FOR PHYSICAL SCIENCES

FACULTY AWARDS

JUDIT ROMHANYI: 2021 HELLMAN FELLOWSHIP AWARD

JUDIT ROMHANYI: 2021 NSF CAREER AWARD

LUIS JAUREGUI: 2021 NSF CAREER AWARD

HOWARD LEE: 2021 ICANX YOUNG SCIENTIST AWARD

JUAN PEDRO OCHOA-RICOUX: 2021 INTERNATIONAL PARTNERSHIP PRIZE FOR

YOUNG SCIENTISTS, CHINESE ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

SASHA CHERNYSHEV: 2022 APS OUTSTANDING REFEREE

ILYA KRIVOROTOV: 2022 MID CAREER AWARD, IEEE MAGNETICS SOCIETY

MICHAEL DENNIN: 2021 APS FELLOW, FORUM ON PHYSICS AND SOCIETY

VIRGINIA TRIMBLE: 2022 AMERICAN ACADEMY OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

CONGRATULATIONS EVERYONE!

RECEPTION ON THE ROWLAND HALL BALCONY



