Graduate Students

1. Harold T. Coderre - M.S., January 1982
Technical Staff, Industrial Firm
A Versatile Data Acquisition and Control System for a Time Resolved Electron Energy Loss Spectroscopy
2. Joseph A. Stroscio - Ph.D., January 1986
Postdoc, IBM; Scientific Staff, NIST
High Resolution Electron Energy Loss Spectroscopy of Surface Excitations
3. Natalie S. Gluck - Ph.D., January 1987; Co-supervisor
Scientific Staff, Rockwell International
Mechanisms of Carbon and Oxygen Incorporation Into Thin Metal Films Grown by Laser Photolysis of Carbonyls
4. John S. Villarrubia - Ph.D., May 1987
Postdoc, IBM; Scientific Staff, NIST
Time Resolved Electron Spectroscopies for the Study of Adsorption, Desorption, and Reaction on Surfaces
5. Bruce A. Gurney - Ph.D., August 1987
Scientific Staff, IBM
Kinetics of Structural and Chemical Transformations of Adsorbates Obtained with a Time-Resolved Electron Energy Loss Spectrometer
6. Lee J. Richter - Ph.D., May 1988
Postdoc, NIST; Scientific Staff, NIST
High Resolution and Time Resolved Electron Energy Loss Spectroscopy Studies of Adsorbate Bonding and Reactivitity
7. Lloyd J. Whitman - Ph.D., August 1988
Postdoc, NIST; Scientific Staff, NRL
The Kinetics and Mechanisms of Alkali Metal-Promoted Surface Reactions
8. Z. Charles Ying - Ph.D., May 1990
Postdoc, Univ. of Penn.; Scientific Staff, ORNL; Faculty, New Mexico State Univ.
The Physical Mechanisms of Surface Photoreactions
9. Shu K. So - Ph.D., January 1991
Postdoc, University of Toronto; Faculty, Baptist College, HK
Photoreactions of Molybdenum Hexacarbonyl and Nitric Oxide on Solid Surfaces
10. Peter W. Lorraine - Ph.D., August 1991
Scientific Staff, GE
Time Resolved Studies and Activated Reactions on Semiconductor Surfaces with a Differentially Pumped Multichannel Electron energy Loss Spectrometer
11. Brian D. Thoms - Ph.D., January 1992
Postdoc, NRL; Faculty, Georgia State University
Studies of Adsorption Dynamics on Silicon(111)7x7 with Molecular Beam Techniques and Electron Energy Loss Spectroscopy
12. Walter D. Mieher - Ph.D., January 1992
Postdoc, Harvard University; Technical Staff, Intel; Technical Staff, KLA-Tencor
Mechanisms of Bimolecular Surface Photoreactions
13. Thomas A. Germer - Ph.D., May 1992
Postdoc, NIST; Scientific Staff, NIST
Experimental Studies of Dynamics at Solid Surfaces
14. Fu-Jen Kao - Ph.D., August 1993
Faculty, Sun Yat Sun University, Taiwan
Femtosecond Surface Photochemistry: O 2 and O2+CO on Pt(111)
15. Kyle A. Brown - Ph.D., August 1995
Technical Staff, Applied Materials; Technical Staff, KLA-Tencor
Molecular Beam Induced Surface Reactions and Film Growth
16. Frank M. Zimmermann - Ph.D., August 1995
Faculty, Rutgers University
Quantum State Resolved Studies of Photodesorption Dynamics
17. Robert A. Pelak - Ph.D., December 1997
Postdoc, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Photodesorption Dynamics of Nitric Oxide on Pt(111) Induced With Nanosecond and Femtosecond Pulsed Laser
18. Barry C. Stipe - Ph.D., August 1998
Postdoc, IBM Almaden Laboratory; Scientific Staff, IBM Almaden Laboratory
Single-Molecule Vibrational Excitation and Chemistry Induced by Inelastic Tunneling Electrons
19. Mohammad A. Rezaei - Ph.D., August 1998
Technical Staff, Transaction Information Systems
Atomic Scale Chemistry on Silicon Surfaces Studied with a Variable Temperature Scanning Tunneling Microscope
20. Scott A. Ustin - Ph.D., September 1999
Technical Staff, Lucent Technology
Non-Equilibrium Growth of Wide Band Gap Semiconductors
21. Lincoln J. Lauhon - Ph.D., August 2000
Postdoc, Harvard University
The Initiation and Characterization of Single Molecule Excitations With a Scanning Tunneling Microscope
22. Chunping Long - Ph.D., August 2000
Technical Staff, Applied Materials
Supersonic Jet Epitaxy of Wide Band Gap Semiconductors
23. T. Mitch Wallis - Ph.D., August 2003
          Postdoc, NIST
          Site Dependent Electronic Structure Revealed by Single Atom Manipulation and Scanning Tunneling Spectroscopy

24. Hyojune Lee - Ph.D., July 2004
          Postdoc, UCLA
          Fabrication and Characterization of Artificial Nanostructure with a Scanning Tunneling Spectroscopy

25. Nilay A. Pradhan- Ph.D., July 2004
          Postdoc, Yale Univ.
          Vibronic Spectroscopy and Atomic Scale Transistor Action Observed with a Scanning Tunneling Spectroscopy

25. Xi Chen- Ph.D., July 2004
          Postdoc, Univ. of California, Irvine
          Construction of a Sub-Kelvin Scanning Tunneling Spectroscopy in High Magnetic Field 

26. Ning Liu- Ph.D., July 2005
          Postdoc, University of Manchester, Manchester, England
Atomic Scale Understanding of Nanostructures in a Double Barrier Tunneling Junction: Scanning Tunneling Microscopy of Alkali Doped Buckminsterfullerenes on Partially Oxidized NiAl(110)

27. Shiwei Wu- Ph.D., Sept 2007
          Postdoc, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory         

28. Xiuwen Tu- Ph.D., July 2008
          Sunpower Inc.     

29. Chi Chen- Ph.D., July 2009

           Faculty, Academia Sinica (Taiwan)

30. Ungdon Ham- Ph.D., July 2007

           Faculty, Institute for Basic Science (Korea)

31. Freddy Toledo- Ph.D., May 2013

           Process Engineer, Intel Corporation

32. Chi-Lun Jiang- Ph.D., June 2015

           Process Engineer, Intel Corporation

33. Weicai Cao- Ph.D., August 2015

           Process Engineer, Intel Corporation

34. Chen Xu- Ph.D., February 2016

           Postdoc, Univ. of California, Irvine

35. Arthur Yu- Ph.D., May 2016


36. Zhumin Han- Ph.D., May 2016


Visiting Graduate Students
1. Christophe Silien, 2001-2002
          Facultes Universitaires Notre-Dame de la Paix, Namur, Belgiqne

2. Alexander Winkler, 2002-2003
          Carl Von Ossietzky University in Oldenburg, Cermany

3. Joonhee Lee, 2004-2005
           Yonsei University, South Korea

Postdoctoral Associates

1. Simon R. Bare, 1982 - 1984
Postdoc, U.C. Berkeley; Research Leader, Dow Chemical
2. Brian P. Tonner, 1982 - 1983
Faculty, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
3. Dinko Chakarov, 1990 - 1991
Faculty, Chalmers University, Sweden
4. Akihide Wada, 1993 - 1994
Faculty, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
5. Deqing Hu, 1994 - 1996
Technical Staff, Hewlett-Packard
6. Jin-Hyo Boo, 1996 - 1997
Faculty, Sung Kyun Kwan University, South Korea
7. Toshiro Yamanaka, 1996 - 1997
Research Associate, Hokkaido University, Japan
8. Yu-Ming Chang, 1996 - 1998
Faculty, National Dong-Hwa University, Taiwan
9. Li Yang, 1995 - 1999
Test Engineer, Bear Stearns, Whippany, NJ
10. Jae Ryang Hahn, 1999 - 2000
Research Staff, Seal National University, South Korea
11. Arthur Hotzel, 2000-2001
          Research Staff, Freie Universitat,  Berlin

12. Joungreal Ahn, 2000-2001
          Research Staff, Pohang University of Science and Technology, South Koean

13. Niklas Nilius, 2001-2002
          Research Associate, Fritz Haber Institute der MPG, Berlin, Germany

14. Xiaohui Qiu, 2001-2003
          IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, New York

15. Christophe Silien, 2004
          LASMOS, Departement de Physique, Faculties Universitaires Notre-Dame de la Paix
          61 rue de Bruxelles, B-5000 Namur, Belgique

16. Naoki Ogawa, 2004-2006
     Research Center for Advanced Science and Technology, University of Tokyo, Japan

17. Christian A. Bobisch, 2007-2008
Group of Prof. R. Möller, Department of Physics, University of Duisburg-Essen

18. Ying Jiang, 2008-2009

       Peking University, China

19. Qing Huan, 2008-2011

      CSA, China

20. Ungdon Ham, 2008-2011


Visiting Professors

1. Haskell Taub, 1984 - 1985
Faculty, University of Missouri, Columbia
2. Bengt Kasemo, 1988 - 1989
Faculty, Chalmers University, Sweden
3. Richard E. Palmer, 1990
Faculty, The University of Birmingham, England
4. Deng-Sung Lin, 1999
           Faculty, National Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan