UCI Postdoctoral Scholar Marina Bianchin Awarded Gruber Foundation Fellowship

Tuesday, May 30, 2023

The Gruber Foundation Fellowships 2023 have been awarded to UCI Postdoctoral Scholar, Marina Bianchin, congratulations to Marina!

Each year the Gruber Foundation, in collaboration with the International Astronomical Union (IAU), funds a US$75 000 fellowship programme for promising young astronomers.

The Selection Committee decided to award this year’s fellowship jointly to three outstanding candidates, each receiving US$25 000.

Marina Bianchin is a Brazilian astronomer who received her PhD in 2022 from the Federal University of Santa Maria, Brazil. Since October 2022, she has been a Postdoctoral Scholar at the University of California, Irvine.

Her research focuses on studying molecular gas outflows with JWST and OSIRIS, with the aim of determining the mass loading in the interstellar medium and developing a classification of the nuclear sources. She plans to use the grant mainly for conference attendance, publication fees, and computer equipment.

IAU President-elect Willy Benz said: “The committee was impressed by the exceptional quality of all the candidates who applied, and we wish to congratulate all applicants on their remarkable achievements. We look forward to their continued success in their respective professional endeavours in the future.”

Click here for more about: The IAU–Gruber Foundation Fellowship Programme

About IAU: 

The International Astronomical Union (IAU) is the international astronomical organization that brings together more than 12 000 active professional astronomers from more than 100 countries worldwide. Its mission is to promote and safeguard astronomy in all its aspects, including research, communication, education and development, through international cooperation. The IAU also serves as the internationally recognized authority for assigning designations to celestial bodies and the surface features on them.

Founded in 1919, the IAU is the world's largest professional body for astronomers.

Credit to:

Lars Lindberg Christensen
IAU Director of Communications


Original Story: 

IAU Communications