Faculty Committees and Service Roster

2017-2018 academic year department committees and faculty service roster

Department Leadership
Department Chair Bullock
Vice Chair of Planning Cooper
Vice Chair of Graduate Studies Tait
Vice Chair of Undergraduate Studies Whiteson
Associate Chair of Inclusive Excellence Chen



Departmental Committees and Service Assignments
Executive Committee  
Inclusive Excellence Chen (Chair), Kirkby, Taffard, Tucker, Dollar
Graduate Studies Tait (Chair), Buote, Chen, Allard, Lin, Rajaraman, Krivorotov
Graduate Admissions Kaplinghat (Chair), Tait, Siryaporn, Dollar, Xia, Abazajian, Ratz, Wu
Graduate Qualifying Exam Rajaraman (Chair)
Graduate Qualifying Exam Policy Taborek (Chair), Tait, Siwy, Cooper, Dollar
ChaMP Co-Director Siwy
Undergraduate Education Whiteson (Chair), Tucker, Collins, White, Buote, Smecker-Hane, Heidbrink, Casper
Undergraduate Admissions Shirman (Chair)
Strategic Planning  
Merit & Promotions White (Chair), Barwick, Cooray, Ho
Non-Senate Academic Review Lankford (Chair)
Colloquium Abazajian (Chair), Tajima, Xia, Hamber
Awards Feng (Chair), Yu, Lin, Chanan, Wu, Taffard
Space Cooper
Community Engagement & Outreach Heidbrink (Chair)
Reines Lecture Barth (Chair), Feng, Yu
Seminar Organizers Cooper (Astrophysics), Chernyshev (Condensed Matter), Lin (Plasma), Rajaraman (Particle)
Web Site Barth 


Undergraduate Physics Major Advising
Advisors for first-year undergraduates
and new transfer students:
Track advisors:  
     General Physics Barwick
     Astrophysics Buote
     Computational Physics Lin
     Philosophy of Physics Whiteson
     Physics Education Collins
     Business & Law McWilliams
     Engineering Physics Taborek
     Biomedical Physics Siryaporn
     General Applied Physics Taborek
     Minors in Earth System Science Heidbrink
Society of Physics Students advisor Bian
Cal-Bridge Steering Committee Smecker-Hane (co-Director), Abazajian, Cooper


Physics & Astronomy Faculty membership on UCI Academic Senate Committees and Councils
Divisional Senate Assembly Murgia
Council on Faculty Welfare, Diversity, and Academic Freedom Abazajian
Council on Research, Computing, and Libraries Barth
Council on Teaching, Learning and Student Experience Casper, Dennin (ex officio)
Committee on Rules and Jurisdiction Abazajian
Board on Undergraduate Scholarships, Honors, & Financial Aid Dennin (ex officio)
Campuswide Honors Program Board Dennin (ex officio)
Assessment Committee Rajaraman (Chair), Kaplinghat
Subcommittee on Courses and Continuing, Part-Time,
and Summer Session Education
Casper (Chair)
Subcommittee on International Education Dennin (ex officio)
Subcommittee on Programs and Policy Dennin (ex officio)


UC System-wide Committees and Service