Inclusion in Physics and Astronomy

The Department of Physics and Astronomy is fully committed to and supportive of the efforts on Inclusive Excellence.

As a community, we acknowledge the richness of commonalities and differences we share, the intrinsic worth of all who work and study here. We aspire to create respect for and appreciation of all persons as a key characteristic of our campus community and to achieve an environment that welcomes and supports diversity as well as ensuring full educational opportunities for all who teach, learn, and work here.

 

Letter from the Department in response to the talk given by Alessandro Strumia at CERN (10/1/2018)

Dear Physics & Astronomy Community:

This letter is in response to an uninformed talk given last week by Professor Alessandro Strumia at CERN [1]. Professor Strumia suggested that men were over-represented in physics because of their inherent “interest and ability.” He showed some statistics on paper counts and citations, concluding that physics as a field suffers from no sexism against women because “smarter people are less affected by implicit bias.” This approach ignores the fact that statistics of this kind are influenced by any bias inherent in the system and cannot be used to test for its existence nontrivially. It should be noted that CERN quickly disavowed the presentation.

Despite the claims of Strumia, there is substantial evidence that high-achieving scientists, both men and women, suffer from substantial preexisting unconscious bias against women [2]. An extensive literature in sociology exists showing that women in science are evaluated as less capable when performing identical work. While research in this direction goes back decades [3], the field has only recently begun to take steps to consciously address gender inequity and this has unfortunately spurred backlash of the type displayed last week at CERN.

This department repudiates the notions put forth in Strumia’s talk in the strongest possible terms. Not only are the theories he champions inconsistent with scientific studies [3,4], but they send a dangerous message to the community, especially young women who are considering a career in physics. As a department, we recognize the intrinsic worth of all who work and study here. We value the ability of women and those who express a non-binary gender identity to contribute at the highest levels and will do all we can to create an environment that fosters gender equity.

The Department will be hosting a town-hall discussion on this issue next week with the date and time to be announced. We welcome anyone who wishes to raise a topic for discussion at that meeting to talk to us.

James Bullock, Professor and Chair

Mu-Chun Chen, Professor and Associate Chair of Inclusive Excellence

Tim Tait, Professor and Vice Chair for Graduate Studies

[1] https://tinyurl.com/y7eyg82r

[2] http://www.pnas.org/content/109/41/16474 , https://tinyurl.com/ybxsgpyq

[3] https://www.nature.com/articles/387341a0, https://tinyurl.com/yd4j5cyl

[4] http://www.nature.com/articles/s41467-018-06292-0

Committee on Inclusive Excellence

The Committee on Inclusive Excellence in the Department of Physics and Astronomy is comprised of faculty, staff, postdocs, graduate students, and undergraduate students who are passionate about promoting diversity, equity, and inclusion in physics.

Please feel free to reach out to a committee member if you are interested in getting involved in supporting our Inclusion Initiative or if you have any comments, questions, or suggestions.  

Faculty Representatives

 

Mu-Chun Chen (Chair)

muchunc@uci.edu

Franklin Dollar

fdollar@uci.edu

David Kirkby

dkirkby@uci.edu

Tammy Smecker-Hane

tsmecker@uci.edu

Anyes Taffard

ataffard@uci.edu

Laura Tucker

tucker@uci.edu

Staff Representatives

 

Romina van Alstine

rvanalst@uci.edu

Ada Ramirez

ada.ramirez@uci.edu

Postdoc/Researcher Representatives

 

Seyda Ipek

sipek@uci.edu

Joakim Olsson

j.mr.olsson@gmail.com

Vivian U

vivianu@uci.edu

Graduate Student Representatives

 

Bela Abolfathi

babolfat@uci.edu

Arianna Brown

ariannb@uci.edu

Katy Wimberly

wimberlm@uci.edu

Joshua Yang

yangjp@uci.edu

Undergraduate Student Representatives

 

Henry Amir

hamir@uci.edu

Kyle Callahan

kjcallah@uci.edu

Martin Yulun Li

yulunl3@uci.edu

Diana Rivera

drivera4@uci.edu

Lisabeth Marie Santana

lisabets@uci.edu

 

 

Former Representatives: Andrew Graus (Grad Representative, 2017 - 2018), Zeppy Khechadoorian (Undergrad Representative, 2017 - 2018), Anna Nelles (Postdoc Representative, 2017 - 2018)