Timothy Tait named fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

Thursday, April 18, 2024

In a message shared by the Office of the Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor, it has been announced that Timothy Tait has been named fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Dear colleagues,

I am pleased to share that four UC Irvine researchers have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). It is my honor to recognize these scholars for their accomplishments, which have significantly contributed to their fields. With this cohort, UCI has 207 AAAS fellows.

Below are the new fellows from UCI and the AAAS citation for each: 

• Filipp Furche, Professor, Department of Chemistry – for distinguished contributions to the fields of computational and theoretical chemistry with applications to the structure and bonding of rare-earth and actinide metal complexes.

• Daniel Gillen, Chancellor’s Professor and Chair, Department of Statistics – for distinguished contributions to statistical methods for survival and longitudinal data, clinical trials, and for impactful collaborative work in drug development, regulatory policy, and epidemiology.

• Timothy Tait, Chancellor’s Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy – for seminal contributions to particle physics phenomenology and model building, including understanding dark matter and how to look for it.

• Jenny Yang, Professor, Department of Chemistry, and Chancellor’s Fellow – for distinguished contributions to the field of inorganic chemistry and reactivity, particularly the mechanistic understanding of homogeneous electrocatalysts and application of chemical principles to advance electrochemical separations.

The new fellows will each receive an official certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin at a forum in September. The new class will also be featured this month in the AAAS News & Notes section of Science.

Please join me in congratulating our colleagues on this accomplishment.

Hal Stern
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
Chancellor's Professor, Department of Statistics